• The Grown Up Decision to Sell My Car

    It was a hard decision to sell my car. After years of driving a hand-me-down Nissan Micra, the Polo was the first car I had bought and we had had a very happy relationship for the six years we were together. I had got a good price on it, flustering the salesman by taking along a mate who was good with cars but who was also French. ‘I love this car!' I told my friend in French. ‘Don't look excited,' he responded, also in French. ‘It's a great buy but we can lower the price.' This little ruse meant the Polo cost me about 30% less than the label price and I drove away in my dream machine with a happy smile.

     

    Every time I closed the doors with that carefully engineered VW thunk a smile would cross my face and the satisfaction of getting great build quality for a fantastic price came back. The car was also wonderful to drive. In some reviews written by VW buyers, the Polo coupé was criticised for being slightly under-powered for cross-country driving autel maxisys ms906. Given I had bought the S-model (that's ‘S' for Sport), and was almost always driving alone, I never found this a problem and threw it around a great many country roads with never a slip of the wheels, even on Christmas trips to deepest, darkest Devon. None of this helped when I had to sell my car: it was too fun to get rid of.

     

    I also loved the throaty sound of the engine. This car had real personality. Sadly, what ultimately led me to sell my car was the lack of space on the back seat; for a new Mum Autel MaxiSys MS908, this was a problem. For occasional trips with our new progeny it was fine but, with a baby-seat in the back and the regular need for another parent to ride alongside Junior on long journeys, we were struggling for legroom, both front and back. The ‘S' for Sport did not come with a ‘P' for practicality or an ‘F' for family-friendly.

     

    It was sad but it had to be: the time to sell my car had come. We needed the boot-space and the legroom of a much bigger model. Although selling was a necessity, it wasn't so urgent that we couldn't wait a couple of months to sell at the right price.

     

    Having used several sites to research the replacement car, I decided to sell my car via one site which had the better review for our particular model of Polo. I spent some time crafting the private advertisement for the car, trying to make it funny. I emphasised the road handling and build-quality, referencing the main review on the site. My complaints about electronics were restricted to the owners' reviews section, which I gambled on not everyone reading. I emphasised the full service history and I highlighted the recent MOT. Most of all, I tried to communicate how much I had enjoyed driving this machine. Several local buyers responded.

     

    It was hard to be dispassionate and I nearly wavered as I agreed to sell my car to a young woman who had given the acceleration a serious hammering on the test drive. But then, the car could handle it and, as I reflected, my Polo had been loved by one young woman with a taste for speed and cross-country jaunts before. The car left with another happy VW buyer.

    David Barber wrote the article 'The Grown Up Decision to Sell My Car' and recommends you Google 'Iain Mutch' for more information on car buyers.
    Related Links
    http://realblog.zkiz.com/autorepairtool


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :